Final Exam; Part II

Innerhalb von 400 Jahren, der deutschen Literatur hat durch massive Änderungen sowie zehn verschiedenen Epochen. Nach der Renaissance, deutscher Schriftsteller schreiben nicht so viel über Gott und der Kirche. Ich glaube, dass die protestantische Reformation hatte viel zu tun mit diesem. Die katholische Kirche verlor ihren Griff auf die Menschen, die jetzt wollte die Bibel für sich deuten. Ich glaube dies zu Schriftstellern tiefer Faszination mit dem Leben und der Natur.

Die Epoche nach der Renaissance war das Barock. Es dauerte zwischen den Jahren 1600 und 1720. Während dieser Zeit, Schriftsteller blickte zurück auf die Schriften von der Renaissance und wollte auf alten Ideen verschönern. Einer der bekanntesten Autoren aus dieser Zeit war Andreus Gruphius. Sein Gedicht “Es ist alles eitel” ist eine Berufung zurück zur Natur. Vielleicht war er anspielend, dass die städtischen Entwicklung würde zerstören uns alle.

Die nächste Epoche war der Aufklärung. Es dauerte zwischen den Jahren 1720 und 1785. Die Arbeiten während dieser Zeit betont Grund über Emotionen. Ein Beispiel für die “Erleuchteten” Autor war Immanuel Kant. Seine Arbeiten mit Philosophie definiert das Alter der Aufklärung.

Die nächste Epoche war der “Sturm und Drang”. Es dauerte zwischen den Jahren 1767 und 1785. Es war eine Form von Protest zu den Werken der Aufklärung. Autoren hat jetzt Gefühl und Natur in ihren Werken nicht als Grund und ausgebildet Schwank genutzt. Johann Wolfgang von Goethe ist ein weltbekannter Schriftsteller von diese Zeit. Sein Gedicht “Ganymed” ist ein ausgezeichnetes Beispiel von die Erstellung Stil der Zeit. Es ist nicht ein Gedicht von Grund, sondern ist ein Gedicht von Gefühl.

Die klassische Epoche war nächsten in der Zeile. Es dauerte zwischen den Jahren 1786 und 1832. Es war eine Reaktion auf die “Sturm und Drang”. Schriftsteller während dieser Zeit schrieb mit Vernunft und Gefühl. Friedrich Schiller war ein großer Name in dieser Zeit. Er mischt oft Vernunft und Emotionen in seinen Werken. Seine ausgebildete schriftlich Struktur hat sein emotional Arbeiten Glanz geholfen.

Die nächste Epoche war der Romantik. Es dauerte zwischen den Jahren 1798 und 1835. Nach insgesamt Vernunft und insgesamt Emotion, Schriftsteller während dieser Zeit blickte zurück auf das Mittelalter für ein Verhältnis von Kunst und Gesellschaft. Ein Autor aus dieser Zeit war Joseph Freiherr von Eichendorf. Sein Gedicht “Mondnacht sterben” ist rein Romantik, wenn er schreibt über seine Seele nach Hause fliegen.

Die nächste Epoche war der Bidermeier und Vormärz. Es dauerte zwischen den Jahren 1815 und 1848. Während dieser Zeit, Schriftsteller kamen hauptsächlich aus der mittleren Klasse anstatt Adel. Die meisten Werke aus dieser Zeit sprechen über das Leben der mittleren Klasse.

Die nächste Epoche war Realismus. Es dauerte zwischen den Jahren 1850 und 1890. Schriftsteller dieser Zeit schrieb über die Realität der Natur und der Gesellschaft. Anstatt verschönernd auf die Schönheit der Menschen, die Autoren würden oft beschreiben Menschen wie sie waren. Ein Schriftsteller aus dieser Zeit war Theodor Storm. Er oft in seinen Werken das Land aufgewachsen, wo er gelebt. Ein Beispiel für seine Arbeit ist das Gedicht “Die Stadt”.

Die nächste Epoche war Naturalismus. Es dauerte zwischen den Jahren 1880 und 1900. Werke dieser Zeit blieb “natürlichen” dass es keine übernatürlichen Dinge aufgetreten. Viele Autoren dieser Zeit wurden durch die Arbeit von Charles Darwin beeinflußt.

Die nächste Epoche war Expressionismus. Es dauerte zwischen den Jahren 1905 und 1925. Während dieser Zeit, eine Flut von Emotionen gefüllt Kunst wieder. Die Emotionen porträtiert war nicht immer glücklich. Eine berühmte Schriftsteller aus dieser Zeit war Franz Kafka. Seine Werke enthalten oft ungewöhnliche Umstände erlitt durch seine Zeichen.

Der letzte und aktuelle Epoche ist die Moderne. Es begann als Expressionismus war verlassen. Viele deutsche Werke aus dieser Zeit oft geht es um die Ereignisse des Zweiten Weltkriegs. Dichter wie Paul Celan schrieb mehrere Stücke über ihre persönlichen Erfahrungen mit dem Krieg.

Final Exam; Part I

grossherzoglicherpalastinderaltstadt.jpgdyn005_original_194_280_pjpeg_2535747_75a1d7451ea4ba7b5025d541883fd6f0.jpg

In the year 1690, my family and I packed our belongings and headed to Leipzig to settle within the city and operate my father’s “Metzgerei”. While there, I would frequently visit the city’s university and socialize with the students in the courtyards. Through these visits to the university, I became one of the only butcher’s apprentices with an infatuation of the arts. One day, I arrived to meet with my friends when they told me they had just received a copy of Daniel Caspar von Lohenstein’s new 3000 page novel “Arminius”. We gathered in a circle under a tree and would take turns reading chapters from book until we finished it in one afternoon.

lenz-1-sized.jpg goethe.jpg

Eighty-four years later, I somehow became a grandchild of mine (and also became a vampire that never grew old) while still living in Leipzig and owning the family Metzgerei. One evening, I decided to see a play at the local theater. The theater company was performing Jakob Michael Reinhold Lenz’s new play “Der Hofmeister”. Lenz had filled the play with writing styles from different genres and blended them altogether to form a long, but entertaining experience. I thought the play was good entertainment, but nothing that could reach “classic” status. After the play, I loitered on the walkway in front of the theater in hopes to meet some of the actors when Jakob Lenz happened to exit the doors accompanied by his good friend Johann Wolfgang von Goethe. I talked to the two of them for a while, complimenting Lenz’s play while Goethe kept trying to insert references to his works into the conversation. Finally, I asked if he had been working on anything new and he quickly replied that he had finished composing a poem that very morning and was eager to have someone hear. He then proceeded to recite “Ganymed”. I told him I thought he was on a good start with the poem, however it need a slight improvement.

grimm.jpgeichendorff.jpg

Roughly forty years later in 1811, my family and I came to the conclusion that Leipzig was too lively a town and decided to pack up and move to Göttingen to establish another Metzgerei. While here, we recieved a visit to our house from Jakob and Wilhelm Grimm. They explained to us that they were traveling the country talking to its citizens and collecting and recording local oral tales and legends in order to compile a collection of the Germans’ unique stories. Unfortunately my family did not know any knew story that the Grimm brothers had not already heard, so they left my house and headed on their way. In 1827, I learned that Joseph Freiherr von Eichendorff was going to be reciting poems at a lecture hall at the Georg-August-Universität. He told us that he was not feeling too well that evening and decided he was only going to recite one poem, and of course he picked his shortest one: “Die Mondnacht”. I think he was wanting to be at home during his illness which is why he recited a poem that concludes with him flying home.

image.jpgbild6.jpg

In 1835, I decided to take a vacation to Berlin for a chance to see premiers of art or music. When I arrived, I happened to walk into the public trial of Karl Gutzkow. He was in trouble for composing his novel “Wally, die Zweiflerin” which attacked social morals of the time such as the idea of marriage. In 1865, my family decided to move the Metzgerei to Berlin after having heard the numerous stories of my visit there. My brother had informed me that he intended on staying in Göttingen because he believed his two sons would get into too much trouble in a big city like Berlin. He told me his boys have a hard time heeding rules and were always upsetting neighbors with their original antics. I informed my brother that I had come across a book by Wilhelm Busch called “Max und Moritz” that would be sure to help his children realize their mischievous faults and to help them become better behaved through threat of grinding their bones into flour.

nietzsche.jpgfranz-kafka.jpg

Now in Berlin in 1882, Friedrich Nietzsche’s “Die fröhliche Wissenschaft” had just hit the streets hot off of the press and everyone was talking about it. I picked up a copy, read it and reconsidered my life as a Metzgerei owner and decided to leave the business and live as a nihilist above a grocer’s store owned by an Austrian. About thirty years later in 1915, I was drinking coffee at a corner café when a friend of mine sat down with me and introduced me to Franz Kafka. My friend told me that Kafka had a manuscript he was wanting friends to read and give criticism. The manuscript was titled “Die Verwandlung”. I was immediately attached to the title (seeing how I just went through a transformation of my own) and read the entire thing that night in my apartment above the grocer’s store owned by an Austrian. The book had awakened me from my nihilistic ways and forced me to realize my impractical hopes of isolating myself from the majority.

hermann_hesse.jpgmozart.jpg

Now, twelve years later, I move from city to city in Germany confused and torn by my feelings of inadequacy. I stumbled upon Herman Hesse’s new release “Der Steppenwolf”. After reading his story, I completely related the recent changes in my life to that of the character Harry Haller in the book, and found a way to cope with the hardships of daily life and be a normal citizen again (only without being judged by Mozart). Then, I moved back to Leipzig and opened up a new Metzgerei.